Historic Happenings at The Old Fort House Museum for the 2021 Tour Season

The Old Fort House Museum will host CHARACTER TOURS, PRESENTATIONS and DEMONSTRATIONS by Paul Stillman of ‘Historically Speaking’

Starting July 9th and running through October 23rd Historic Happenings Walks, Tours and Artisan Demonstrations of musket making, quill pens and powder horns will take place at the Old Fort House Museum in Fort Edward!

* The Museum Campus is OPEN for Regular Tours Daily 1-4 pm.

* Additional Spirited Historical House Tours of the Old Fort House will take place at 4pm on select Saturdays by RESERVATION to: oldfort@albany.twcbc.com or phone: 518-747-9600 (maximum of 10 people per tour).

* NEW History Walks of the Historic District of Fort Edward – with ‘insider information‘ and a Cemetery Stop. Walking Tour takes approx. 1hr. and starts at the Museum Campus.

* The RETURN of the Evening Spectral Tours of the Museum Grounds (tours starting at 7pm and 8:15pm) led by Paul Stillman of Historically Speaking as your Historical Character Guide. ALL SPECIAL TOURS are $15.00 per person.

SUNY Adirondack Programs

As part of the Personal Enrichment Program at SUNY Adirondack, FEHA Executive Director Paul McCarty will be leading the following tours and workshops at the Fort Edward Art Center, 83 Broadway, Fort Edward. For more information go to https://www.sunyacc.edu/continuing-ed/personal-enrichment.

Registration for these events will go through Yvonne Goodwin, Coordinator of Community Outreach & Continuing Education at SUNY Adirondack. More Information to follow.

The Champlain Canal Walking Tour
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 | 1:00 – 3:00 pm

The Union Cemetery Walking Tour
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 | 1:00 – 3:00 pm 

Saturday, December 4, 2021 | 10:00 am – 1:00 pm

Saturday, December 11, 2021 | 10:00 am – 1:00 pm

John P. Burke Research Center

The John P. Burke Research Center is available to the public for research on a wide variety of local historic topics. Open Wednesdays from 9:00 am – 12:00 pm. The Fort Edward Historical Association holds a vast collection including; photographs from the 1910s- 1960s, local area yearbooks, ceramics and various objects from estates of local historical significance. Please email oldfort@albany.twcbc.com with any questions and relative information on your chosen topic. Please call 518-747-9600 to schedule an appointment to use the Research Center. (Suggested donation $10.00)

John P. Burke Research Center

Jobs & Internships

The Site Assistant/Educator will support the Executive Director with day to day operations, assist in presenting group tours and manage the administrative aspects of the organization. Part – Time (24hrs/week, year round, with potential for additional hours) Please submit cover letter and resume via email to oldfort@albany.twcbc.com by 6/15/21.

Internships at the Old Fort House Museum are a great way to learn about the daily operation of a non-profit organization. The Museum offers internship opportunities for college and graduate school students within a wide range of fields and interests including; Collections, Archives, Educations Programming, and Social Media/Marketing. Internships are offered throughout the year for college credit or independent study. Please submit a cover letter and resume along with the application to oldfort@albany.twcbc.com.

Join our Mailing List!


Fort Edward Historical Association Members receive:

• Free admission for tours of the museum campus

• All association mailings invitations to all special programs and events.

• A 10% discount in our gift shop.

To become a member click the link below. Submit completed membership forms via mail to PO Box 106, Fort Edward, NY 12828.

COVID-19 Precautions

Thank you for visiting the Old Fort House Museum!

We have decided to take extra precautions during this time. This includes changing our cleaning procedures and ensuring the site has proper space for social distancing. We will be asking our staff, volunteers, and visitors the following questions:

  1. Have you had a fever in the last 48 hours?
  2. Are you experiencing any of the following symptoms:
    • runny nose
    • sore throat
    • cough
    • shortness of breath
  3. Have you been in contact with anyone who has a confirmed case of COVID-19 in the last 2 weeks (14 days)?

If you have answered “yes” to any of these questions please stay home and come back another day when you are feeling better. 

We have implemented the following new site rules:

    • Please practice social distancing – this means keep a safe distance of at least 6 feet from other people at all times at the museum.
    • Please wash your hands/ sanitize your hands before entering the museum.
    • We are requiring that all guests, volunteers, and staff wear a cloth face covering over their mouth and nose.

We hope you enjoy your visit to the Old Fort House Museum

Highlights of the Fort Edward Historical Association Collection: 1927-present

This summer we opened our second exhibit in the Alfred Z. Solomon Gallery in the Dutch House. This exhibit focuses on some of the more unique pieces of the FEHA collections. We started collecting in 1927 when we occupied space above the library. Upon the opening of the Old Fort House Museum in 1953 we were able to continue to add more pieces to the collection. Below are a few highlights, come by for a tour to see the whole exhibit.

2018 Country Fair and Auction

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Get ready for our annual Country Fair and Auction on Saturday, July 28th!  The fun begins at 9:00am.  Bring the family and stay for the day.  Enjoy refreshments while browsing the items for sale from the various vendors including antiques, collectibles, craft items, and tools.  This year’s auction promises a lot of great opportunities for special purchases to enhance your collection.  You’ll find Fort Edward Pottery, linens, vintage toys, paintings,  New York Stoneware, Lake George Prints, clocks, bells, chests of drawers, chairs, tables and more!  Check out the preview of some of our offerings above.